L.A. Girl Cosmetics Review: Chunky Lip Pencil

On the recommendation of one of my favourite South African beauty bloggers, Lipgloss Kisses, I decided to give L.A. Girl Cosmetics a try. L.A. Girl Cosmetics is one of the cheaper drugstore brands and the sparkly packaging makes everything look very icky and preteen. I’m quite a makeup snob and don’t generally purchase drugstore brands, but I swallowed my pride after I found out that L.A. Girl does not test on animals. Budget cruelty-free products are hard to come by.

The L.A. Girl product that I chose to try out was the Chunky Lip Pencil in Rose. Besides it being the first time that I’m using L.A. Girl cosmetics, it’s also my first time using a chunky lip pencil. I’m a die-hard lipstick whore, as I’ve said many a time, but I’ve come to the realisation that I need a more understated lip look for work. Here is a swatch test of the product in natural light, a lovely cool rose pink:

Cape Town-20141116-00363

Excuse my crappy Blackberry camera…I will be upgrading to the real deal soon.

When I applied the lip pencil, I was astonished at the intensity of the colour delivered. In the photos I’ve included, I’m only wearing one layer of the product that I applied about an hour ago. L.A. Girl Chunky Lip pencils have the longest staying power that I have ever experienced from any lip colour. The formula is creamy without being too heavy and tacky, moisturising lips and giving a matte finish without feeling too fussy. Plus, it has a delicious vanilla scent.

At only R 35 from Clicks stores, what could possibly stop me from buying every colour in the range?

Well, I’m a little hesitant after reading the lengthy “may contain” list: iron oxides, D&C Reds 7, 30 , 6 and 27, as well as titanium dioxide. A Googling session revealed that iron oxides are harmless and provide intense pigments with staying power. Titanium dioxide is also a colourant and is not harmful unless inhaled as a dust. As for the D&C Reds, none of the numbers in the L.A. Girl Cosmetics chunky lip pencil are of the carcinogenic variety. So, there you go! All neurotic thoughts have been put to rest.

imageHave you tried any L.A. Girl Cosmetics products? Let me know about your experiences.